MAY 12-13: ZINELAND TERRACE

Events / Special Events

Zineland Terrace
A TCAF Zine Fair
Saturday May 12, 11am-5pm
Sunday May 13, 11am-5pm

@ Cumberland Terrace, 2 Bloor St. W. (Across from Toronto Reference Library)
Free to attend

We are proud to announce Zineland Terrace, the first ever TCAF Zine Fair!

Every year, some of the world’s most exciting comic artists gather for the Toronto Comic Arts Festival. This year, we are delighted to expand the scope of the festival’s exhibitor programming to include a brand new, truly unique space for zine creators, readers, and well, everyone!

TCAF’s Zineland Terrace will happen on the upper level of The Cumberland Terrace (2 Bloor St W) on May 12-13, 2018, from 11am to 5pm each day. The event will run concurrently with the main festival floor directly across the street at the Toronto Reference Library, but will focus on creators using self publishing, DIY, and zine culture to forge new and critical narratives and communities.

Programming for Zineland Terrace:

  • Drop In Cut-n-Paste Zine Making Station! Saturday and Sunday (Ongoing!), Cumberland Terrace, 2nd Floor
    Are you thinking “Hey, all this zine stuff is real neat, I’d like to give it a try.”? Well, friend, have we got just thing for you! We’ll be running a drop-in cut-n-paste zine-making station for the duration of the festival, with everything you need to walk away with a brand new zine in your pocket.
  • The New Tattoo Underground – DIY Tattoo Workshop and Discussion with Tee Fergus Saturday, 1:30-3:30 p.m., Cumberland Terrace, 2nd Floor
    Tattooing has historically been a means of self-expression and community building, but access to the culture and knowledge around it has its barriers. DIY tattoo culture is all about giving access back to people, whether it be access to knowledge on how to tattoo safely and competitively, or access to sick tats.Tee Fergus is a Toronto-based illustrator and tattoo artist who started her own independent tattoo practice after working in shops for three years. Tee also brings culture and purpose into her designs, which frequently feature archetypal imagery like plants and moons, as well as contemporary cultural references like Cardi B and sneaker culture.
  • The Squeegee Goes Where?? DIY Screenprinting with Rabeea Syed. Sunday, 1:30-3:30 p.m., Cumberland Terrace, 2nd Floor
    Screenprinting can seem very intimidating at first sight — the protective equipment, the lights, the heavy pressure washers! Fortunately, there are a number of less involved, DIY-alternatives for those of us who are not about to invest a few hundred bucks into this, or just want to give screenprinting a try.Join screenprinter extraordinaire Rabeea Syed as she shares some DIY screenprinting techniques, and come get some cool stuff printed on your things!

Exhibitors for Zineland Terrace:

Adroit Automotive Empowerment https://www.redbubble.com/people/adroitauto
Alexandra Gutnik www.liquidnoon.tumblr.com
Anastasia Kozachinskaya akozachi.com
AriocarpOs Collective https://www.ariocarpos.com
Art of Patrick Carson Sparrow http://patricksparrow.tumblr.com/
Austin Sherman austin-sherman.com
Boltlick Booklets www.fretfretfret.com
boundless media
Bronson Smillie www.bronsonsmillie.com
Caerina Abrenica caerinaabrenica.com
Call Out Comics; Jonathan Rotsztain; Rebecca Roher http://rebeccaroher.com/ || http://rotsztain.com/comics/comics.html
Chelsea Watt www.chelseawatt.com
Courtney Toderash – God’s Vagina https://withholdingstore.bigcartel.com/
Emily Fay Fin fayforest.com
Foot-to-Face foottoface.com
Issue Press https://issue.press
Jackie Lee Art Jackieleeart.ca
Jess Sheridan jess-sheridan.com
Kima Lenaghan kimalenaghan.com
Lisa Vanin lisavanin.com
Little Lighthouse Press
Lucky Risograph Press www.luckyrisograph.press
Lunchroom Toronto
Nosebleed Comics nosebleedcomics.tumblr.com
Particular Instances of the Possible instagram.com/enrique_snaps
Part-Time Pigeon www.parttimepigeon.com
rap legend Jesse Dangerously, Bookburner Press https://dangerously.bandcamp.com/merch/chapbook-download
Sunday Night Bombers https://sundaynightbombers.com/
Talbert Johnson whatatinybug.tumblr.com
Word Ashes Press https://www.wordashes.com/

Please reach out with any questions or concerns to zinelandterrace@gmail.com.

Long live zines!

– Zineland Terrace Collective

Poster by Victor Martins with Rabeea Syed